diet, food, type 1 diabetes

Repost: My Relationship with Food

I had a trainer at my gym. I asked what he ate and it was super bland food. “How can you eat that?”

“Food is just fuel,” he said.

What… the…. hell… did.. you.. say? What is this foreign language you speak?

fzomi

There are shows dedicated to the preparation of tastey food. Artists also know as cooks, bakers, chefs. . . . make awesome culinary creations just for us to nom on. Grandparents pass down recipes from generations. Countries have dishes of choice pertaining to their culture. Some even don’t eat certain foods due to religion. Food is more than just fuel. It’s a huge part of life.

im-serious

I grew up with the smell of onions frying in olive oil and garlic. If you don’t know this smell, you’re not Italian. This is the beginning of making sauce. I remember making meatballs with my grandmother and having to make them into little balls. I also remember making sugar cookies every Christmas with my mom. We’d cut out shapes, bake them and then sprinkle them with sprinkles.  Sausage frying, rice in butter, the occasional horrible meatloaf, flinging peas, and chocolate chip pancakes are some memories of mine. They all remind me of people and good times.  I grew up with the idea to attach memories and to appreciate my food.

giphy

The concept that food is just fuel doesn’t make sense to me at all. God gave you sense of taste. Enjoy it in moderation!

i2kuwtk5v5b5a-nzmf9oguyne2g

Leave a Reply

