diet, food, ketogenic diet, paleo, sugar detox, type 1 diabetes

No one likes a know-it-all, Hermonie.

I went to a Sugar Workshop, or seminar all about sugar. I learned a little I didn’t know before. Diabetics know a crap ton about sugar, as we ought to. I know how much sugar is in things and what it will do to the body. There is more sugar in food than most people realize.

But luckily, only 9.3% of people in the US need to be frightened, not add sugar to things, carb count, worry about insulin, possibly use pumps and so on. Diabetics are the ones who need to worry the most. Now, that’s not saying that you don’t need cut out some sugar and be healthier, you normies. Just remember that you do NEED some sugar and NEED some carbs your diet or else you could become hypoglycemic. It’s more of a balance act for a diabetic. We gotta work to be in a green zone with our sugars. Normies will naturally be in the green zone, even after that coke. Just too much coke and cake and cookies and extra sugar constantly will piss of your pancreas, leading to type 2 diabetes. That isn’t ALWAYS the case however. Many factors play a role.

This subject was explained in further detail. The dangers of “fake sugars” or as I call them the other Satan were explained to be dangerous and cause a list of nasty adverse affects such as fatigue, depression, epilepsy, anxiety attacks  . . How to read a label was explained too as well as to ACTUALLY READ THE LABEL. Yeah, reading the label on foods is a great way to start reducing sugar amount. Foods are sneaky and claim they are good for you when the label says otherwise.

Sugar can be addicting was a main note, which I know is true. I go through loops/stages where I binge due to going without sugary foods for a long period of time and loop back to no sugary foods and back again. Relapsing is the appropriate wording. Why? I am addicted to sugar and live here (US).  There was a mention of the diets for sugar detox- one in which I tried and could not maintain longer than a week. It was hell and I craved sugar like mad.

I could have added so much. Lectured and given all my wonderful insight. Likely would scare the shit out of people and make them never want to even look at a piece of cake again.

Yet-

I did not give my two cents. I did not poke my head in and shout “OH HEY BTW I KNOW ALL THIS BECAUSE I’M TYPE ONE!” Nope. That would be arrogant. So. What do you think happened instead? Some paleo la4679840svf10dt4vsluwvtrz0yextz8dcejjt0ozlgtzuqk7tp4vwym1maepr3gucxsowaulzawsx5ct7tkqmz5jxpqdy did such a thing .”Well I’m paleo so I don’t read labels.” Good for you.  Slow clap. Great, someone who refuses to eat much sugar, carbs and most certainly doesn’t carb count and probably doesn’t even know how.  Slow clap. I mean, great she is taking care of herself but shit don’t be a know it all. Paleo isn’t the perfect diet. I know for a fact that they are still perfecting Paleo or else Primal would not exist. It won’t work for everyone and it didn’t work wonders for me.  I did not say a word to Paleo lady, though my Sicilian blood boiled.

I respected people wanted to learn about sugar and how much effort my friend put into this seminar. She did a wonderful job and had a lot of knowledge and facts to bring to the table. It was not a diabetes scarefest like I thought it would be. It was enlightening and good to hear.

Leave a Reply

