food, husband, lifestyle

Get yourself a man that can do both!

I was diagnosed in my second year of marriage. We two were driving along when I got the phone call that I was sick and had diabetes. He saw I was about to cry and immediately wanted to know what was wrong. My life changed that day.

I’ve heard from friends and the internet that relationships can be affected by diabetes. I wondered if my honeymoon phase would be over like so many other people and the struggle would begin. Other relationships have ended due to diabetes. The significant other didn’t want to put up with it, eat the same way, refused to learn anything, and showed no support. I’ve heard dating is a struggle too. My girlfriends have been dumped JUST because they were diabetic.

Luckily I got myself a man that is supportive. He’s driven me to the ER and goes to my endocrinologist visits. He eats like I do (if not healthier) and even went on the Paleo diet with me. He’s decided to go to medical school and minor in nutrition. I motivate him and inspire him. He does the same for me.. Maybe it’s due to my husband being European so eating differently comes natural and he already didn’t eat like an American.  Maybe that is Nordic culture. Yet- I’d like to think Americans can be just as supportive of their diabetic spouses.

It’s really important to find someone that can support your health. The priest does say “in sickness and in health” right?

real-men-patrick-funny-goals-favim-com-4150358

 

 

Leave a Reply

