food, lifestyle, type 1 diabetes

That Unicorn Frappe

Remember my post, Are diabeetus memes funny to diabetics?, well that Unicorn Frappe that everyone and their mother have heard about has a popular meme attached to it now.

diabetesunicornI gotta say, I carefully considered who posted this meme and if they were serious. Of course they weren’t serious. They were just commenting that the frappe has a lot of sugar. In fact, I’ll even agree the cotton candy frappe tastes like pure sugar. GAG. According to Starbucks online, a grande Unicorn Frappe is just about the same amount of carbs as my favorite grande Mocha Frappe. So the reality is that the Starbucks drinks just have a lot of sugar. Did I mention I can’t really tolerate their coffee anymore?

computer-guy-facepalm

You can’t contract diabetes from them, though. Am I offended by someone saying you’ll contract diabetes from something sugary? Not as long as they aren’t serious. Eating sugar will not cause diabetes. There are many factors contributing to diabetes such as age, genetics, and lifestyle.  I hope people realize this when they post these memes.

I still insist that these memes are doing some good in the diabetes world. More and more people are realizing that lifestyle can contribute to type 2 diabetes and that diabetes is a disease that really sucks.

Yet I will say again, if you post these kinds of memes, I will always gauge how stupid you are. Comes with the territory. Sorry not sorry.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

